5 British Books You Need To Read Right Now

Image for post
Image for post
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash
Image for post
Image for post

A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings by Helen Jukes (Pantheon, May 5, 2020)

We all respond differently to feelings of disconnection. For Helen Jukes at the beginning of her 30s, the answer came in the form of a gift of being given a colony of honeybees. But, just as H is for Hawk is about much more than bird taming, this book is about so much more than beekeeping: it’s about uncertainty, hope, solitude, friendship, restlessness, and home. The Bookseller calls it “pure delight”.

Image for post
Image for post

Death In The East by Abir Mukherjee (Pegasus Crime, May 5, 2020)

This is the next installment of the adventures of Captain Sam Wyndham, a police detective based in 1920s Calcutta, and his sidekick Surrender-Not Banerjee. The story begins in London in 1905, when Wyndham had promised to find out what happened to a woman found dead in her own room. In 1922, someone is out for revenge…

Image for post
Image for post

The Lizard by Bruce Dugald-Lockhart (Wholestory Audiobooks, May 07, 2020, Audio Only in the US)

Bruce Dugald-Lockhart is a stage actor turned prominent director and now novelist with a fascinating family background, and I’m really interested to see how all of this plays out in his debut. The description makes me think of The Great Gatsby with its heady mix of parties, sex, and drugs. It’s the story of Alistair Halston, who follows the ex-girlfriend he’s obsessed with to Greece, but, after getting mugged and losing everything, takes a job posing for a wealthy artist. And then a body is found, and it looks like Halston is to blame.

Image for post
Image for post

The High Moments by Sara-Ella Ozbek (Simon & Schuster, May 28, Ebook and Audio)

Pitched as being for fans of Fleabag and Girls, and a more sordid Devil Wears Prada, this novel follows Scarlett’s attempts to get out of her small town, move to London and “be someone”. Her internship at a fashion agency seems like one way to do this, but things quickly spiral out of her control. Sara-Ella Obzek has worked at Vogue and at a fashion agency, so you’ll get some authentic behind-the-scenes glimpses at the industry.

Image for post
Image for post

Heatstroke By Hazel Barkworth (Headline Review, May 28, 2020)

There’s something about summer heat that mirrors the torture of obsession perfectly. When Rachel’s 15-year-old student Lily goes missing, she becomes fixated on the missing girl and making unexpected choices.

Editor of WALK WITH US: How the West Wing Changed Our Lives; author of the novel UNSCRIPTED and of CONQUERING BABEL: a Practical Guide to Learning a Language.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store