30 of the Best Quotes from DAISY JONES AND THE SIX

Claire Handscombe
5 min readOct 30, 2019

I’ve loved Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books since her very first one, Forever, Interrupted, which I discovered almost by accident. I was a little scared of Daisy Jones and the Six, because it seems like everyone loves it so much, and I’ve been burned before by what I call bandwagon books. But on this one, it turns out, the hype is entirely deserved. It’s such a good story, told so expertly, and the “oral history” format works really well. I loved it, and blew through it. I know a book is good when whatever else is going on in life, I *have* to make time to read it for hours at a time.

If, like me, you’re still looking for some books to fill the Daisy Jones shaped hole in your reading life, you might want to take a look at this list.

Below are some of what I think are the best quotes from Daisy Jones and the Six -the ones that hopefully don’t spoil the story, but do illustrate how insightful the book is about love, friendship, and music. It really is an extraordinary novel.

However, it should also be noted that, on matters both big and small, sometimes accounts of the same event differ. The truth often lies, unclaimed, in the middle.

-Author’s note

I had absolutely no interest in being somebody else’s muse. I am not a muse. I am the somebody.

--

--

Claire Handscombe

Editor of WALK WITH US: How the West Wing Changed Our Lives; author of the novel UNSCRIPTED and of CONQUERING BABEL: a Practical Guide to Learning a Language.